Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!

Typhoon H - Controls backward?

Reaction score
Ok. So maiden didn't go well (or at all really). No crash, but almost. The controls appear to be backwards (at least on pitch and roll) and on takeoff, there was an aggressive drift backward with no input.

As for the reversed controls, having built many multi-rotors, I am not a stranger to controls that need to be reversed, and I would immediately look to doing so, but I figured I would check here before rooting around for that solution. I am new to Yuneec, but kinda surprised that it was that wonky right out of the box.

I didn't calibrate the compass because it didn't make me, so, perhaps, that might help?

Anyone have any thoughts?

Not sure, but it might have been a false alarm or user error.

The first attempt was in smart mode which might have accounted for the reversed controls but, I assume, not for aggressively moving backward on takeoff. Perhaps it is not appropriate to take off in that mode? I figured smart mode sounded good, so why not try that first. :) I have not repeated that test because I don't want to destroy it yet.

However, I just tried another test with "angle" mode and it worked fine and the aircraft flew well and seemed stable enough. It is a familiar feel for a "stability or angle" mode on other flight controllers, though this one seems to really want to level out, even while in forward flight it kinda seems to hesitate a tiny bit. That did not seem to translate into the footage.

Anyway, I only flew around the yard (1 acre) a little bit but everything seemed to function. (gear, camera movement, gimbal stability, record start/stop etc.)

Was obstacle avoidance on in take-off? If so, look at the black sheet (opposite side of LED lite codes), turn it off before landing but I think also before take-off. If it saw something right in front of it, it may have been trying to back up and get away.