Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

Typhoon H wont descend

Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
If you mean Channel 1, it should be 80% up and 20% down if the rate slider is in Turtle. It should be 100% up and 0% down with the rate slider in Rabbit. See if these pictures represent where you set as "center" for the sliders during calibration:
View attachment 26591
I see exactly what you mean now, the pictures make it perfectly clear, I will go back to step one and calibrate all again, and then go outside and do the compass and then send you the flightlogs, rabbit mode up, down, forward, back, left, right, spin left spin right --- repeat in turtle rise to 30' forward 50 feet raise landing gear, return to Home. Thanks Again
 
  • Like
Reactions: WTFDproject
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
Heres the newest flightlog after todays test flight, all went well in rabbit mode,switched to turtle mode and moved sticks J1, J3, J4, and J2. All functioned as they should. Switched back to rabbit and began descension to land, dropped to appox 12-15 feet of altitude and stopped, now it will not drop at all ! maybe a few inches, tried tapping red arming button to drop a foot at a time, several red attempts and prop pitch sound changes and craft goes up a foot. I flip the return to home switch down and the craft rises to about approx 60 feet at approx takeoff area, it drifts at altitude about 60-75 feet, stops and land perfectly. If the craft was pointing north (and was) the drift before landing was to the south. I wanted to attempt a RTH but left the safe landing intact. Never tried landing gear cycle and realsense removed. I hope this helps
 

Attachments

  • flightlog3[1].zip
    16.2 MB · Views: 3
  • Sad
Reactions: Steve Carr

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
I took a look at the log for 00131. One thing that was very obvious is J3 having very limited range in Rabbit and nothing in Turtle. The range of the controls in Turtle is still too narrow in range. I would suggest opening the ST16 and giving the potentiometers on the sticks, Rate Slider, Pan Knob, and Tilt Slider a good cleaning with a plastic safe electrical contact cleaner. See attachment 41 in Way to Fix Drones Project. Then check them in Hardware Monitor. Ensure they are able to go full scale, center when released, and are not lagging or jittering.

I am perplexed at the hesitancy to descend properly. Looking at this the RS module is not the cause of the troubles. I am suspecting there are issues with the Flight Controller on the aircraft. The barometric sensor is on the bottom side of the F/C and it seems that it or the accelerometers are having issues. I would suggest connecting the aircraft to the GUI to see if it detects any issues with the electronics. Watch the yaw to see if it constantly drifts while connected to the GUI.

I will attach charts from the analysis program later today. I have to merge them in Photoshop and I have stuff to do this AM so I'll elaborate later today.
Flight 00131.png

@Dave I do you have the GUI loaded on a PC?

If the Hardware Monitor is showing the sticks and the Rate Slider as having full travel, open the Final Output display by double tapping the Volts icon on the ST16 (the aircraft does NOT have to be on and bound). Place the Rate slider at Rabbit and record the values of the sticks (Ch1 thru Ch4) at full travel in both directions, the tilt slider at both endpoints (Ch7), the Pan Knob at full left and right (Ch8), and Motor Arm/Disarm (Ch1). Make sure J1 and B1 are the only thing that affects Ch1. Repeat with the Rate Slider at Turtle position. Report the results here before taking anymore test flights.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
I took a look at the log for 00131. One thing that was very obvious is J3 having very limited range in Rabbit and nothing in Turtle. The range of the controls in Turtle is still too narrow in range. I would suggest opening the ST16 and giving the potentiometers on the sticks, Rate Slider, Pan Knob, and Tilt Slider a good cleaning with a plastic safe electrical contact cleaner. See attachment 41 in Way to Fix Drones Project. Then check them in Hardware Monitor. Ensure they are able to go full scale, center when released, and are not lagging or jittering.

I am perplexed at the hesitancy to descend properly. Looking at this the RS module is not the cause of the troubles. I am suspecting there are issues with the Flight Controller on the aircraft. The barometric sensor is on the bottom side of the F/C and it seems that it or the accelerometers are having issues. I would suggest connecting the aircraft to the GUI to see if it detects any issues with the electronics. Watch the yaw to see if it constantly drifts while connected to the GUI.

I will attach charts from the analysis program later today. I have to merge them in Photoshop and I have stuff to do this AM so I'll elaborate later today.
Thanks Again, one thing at a time, did you mean J1-Throttle or J3 forward back ? not that it matters, Im confused, the initial stick tests in rabbit and turtle mode all acted normal, the J1 rose and descended as normal in both modes but telemetry showed otherwise ? When I split the st I sprayed both pots on both sticks with wd-40 specialist electrical contact cleaner spray. I did not do sliders and pan, I am opening again to lube those three and check J1 also.
QUESTIONS: How and what are we referring to GUI is there an attachment to explain. 2) the hardware monitor shows sticks all opperating normally and sliders 3) Is the flight controller a replaceble item, where is it located ? Just baffling that it will rise and fall until it hits the approx 15 foot ceiling and the red button will not function to descend, or is it connected to J1.. Don't rush as I will clean sliders and not fly until hear from you. PS is there an attacment to read the charts
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,010
Reaction score
2,324
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Thanks Again, one thing at a time, did you mean J1-Throttle or J3 forward back ? not that it matters, Im confused, the initial stick tests in rabbit and turtle mode all acted normal, the J1 rose and descended as normal in both modes but telemetry showed otherwise ? When I split the st I sprayed both pots on both sticks with wd-40 specialist electrical contact cleaner spray. I did not do sliders and pan, I am opening again to lube those three and check J1 also.
QUESTIONS: How and what are we referring to GUI is there an attachment to explain. 2) the hardware monitor shows sticks all opperating normally and sliders 3) Is the flight controller a replaceble item, where is it located ? Just baffling that it will rise and fall until it hits the approx 15 foot ceiling and the red button will not function to descend, or is it connected to J1.. Don't rush as I will clean sliders and not fly until hear from you. PS is there an attacment to read the charts
The flight controller can be purchased on line, such as: https://yuneecskins.com/all-products/ols/products/yuneec-typhoon-h-flight-controller-yuntyh133

This is one way to remove the top shell:
I don't use the tools for this. I prefer to pinch in on the top sides of the arm openings with one hand, grab the landing gear with the other hand, and push up with my thumb. The tools are a lot easier, but hands are less likely to damage anything.

Once the top shell is removed, the flight controller is right on top:
You don't have to remove the large board from the drone. The video is focused on the flight controller itself.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
Thanks Again, one thing at a time, did you mean J1-Throttle or J3 forward back ? not that it matters, Im confused, the initial stick tests in rabbit and turtle mode all acted normal, the J1 rose and descended as normal in both modes but telemetry showed otherwise ? When I split the st I sprayed both pots on both sticks with wd-40 specialist electrical contact cleaner spray. I did not do sliders and pan, I am opening again to lube those three and check J1 also.
QUESTIONS: How and what are we referring to GUI is there an attachment to explain. 2) the hardware monitor shows sticks all opperating normally and sliders 3) Is the flight controller a replaceble item, where is it located ? Just baffling that it will rise and fall until it hits the approx 15 foot ceiling and the red button will not function to descend, or is it connected to J1.. Don't rush as I will clean sliders and not fly until hear from you. PS is there an attacment to read the charts
I messed up on that one. I meant to say J4 (aileron/roll) was not functioning properly. As a rule the left/right directions on the sticks seem to be the worst on the ST16 for getting the thin oxidation that causes them to perform poorly.

The GUI is a program for a Windows PC that connects to the aircraft via USB cable. It checks the internal electronics and allows you to test the motors (no props). You can download it here GUI Typhoon H. You may also need to download the redistributable file if it is not already loaded on your PC. After installing the GUI, right click on the desktop icon for it and go to settings. Select Run as Administrator.

It would really help to know what the results are using the Final Output display.

The Flight Controller is replaceable, but there are still other possibilities besides it.

The program we use to analyze the flightlogs is Q500log2kml designed by @h-elsner. It can be downloaded from Downloads it includes a user manual in pdf format. There is a more in-depth document to help learn how to read the FlightLog information here https://yuneecpilots.com/attachments/typhoon-h-control-data-pdf.24608/
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
I took a look at the log for 00131. One thing that was very obvious is J3 having very limited range in Rabbit and nothing in Turtle. The range of the controls in Turtle is still too narrow in range. I would suggest opening the ST16 and giving the potentiometers on the sticks, Rate Slider, Pan Knob, and Tilt Slider a good cleaning with a plastic safe electrical contact cleaner. See attachment 41 in Way to Fix Drones Project. Then check them in Hardware Monitor. Ensure they are able to go full scale, center when released, and are not lagging or jittering.

I am perplexed at the hesitancy to descend properly. Looking at this the RS module is not the cause of the troubles. I am suspecting there are issues with the Flight Controller on the aircraft. The barometric sensor is on the bottom side of the F/C and it seems that it or the accelerometers are having issues. I would suggest connecting the aircraft to the GUI to see if it detects any issues with the electronics. Watch the yaw to see if it constantly drifts while connected to the GUI.

I will attach charts from the analysis program later today. I have to merge them in Photoshop and I have stuff to do this AM so I'll elaborate later today.
View attachment 26622

@Dave I do you have the GUI loaded on a PC?

If the Hardware Monitor is showing the sticks and the Rate Slider as having full travel, open the Final Output display by double tapping the Volts icon on the ST16 (the aircraft does NOT have to be on and bound). Place the Rate slider at Rabbit and record the values of the sticks (Ch1 thru Ch4) at full travel in both directions, the tilt slider at both endpoints (Ch7), the Pan Knob at full left and right (Ch8), and Motor Arm/Disarm (Ch1). Make sure J1 and B1 are the only thing that affects Ch1. Repeat with the Rate Slider at Turtle position. Report the results here before taking anymore test flights.
Here are the results, let me know if they are not legibl, and no I do not have a GUI file
 

Attachments

  • 20211004_163641.jpg
    20211004_163641.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 6
  • 20211004_163646.jpg
    20211004_163646.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
These results look great. Did you take these notes before cleaning the sticks or after cleaning the sticks?
After, I think as long as I have the ST on the bench I'll probably re install realsense module just to make the flashing led easier to read, had no luck finding just the cover --- I will attempt downloading GUI. this evening
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
After, I think as long as I have the ST on the bench I'll probably re install realsense module just to make the flashing led easier to read, had no luck finding just the cover --- I will attempt downloading GUI. this evening
I concur with @WTFDproject on the results of the Final Output. Those look really good.

I think reinstalling the RS is a good idea. That is not what is causing the pause at 15 feet. The good news is that Home (RTH) will land the aircraft when it does not respond to J1 down command.

You are doing a good job in helping us troubleshoot the issues with your Typhoon H. Keep up the good work. Getting the GUI installed and connecting the aircraft will also help in the troubleshooting regimen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WTFDproject
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
I concur with @WTFDproject on the results of the Final Output. Those look really good.

I think reinstalling the RS is a good idea. That is not what is causing the pause at 15 feet. The good news is that Home (RTH) will land the aircraft when it does not respond to J1 down command.

You are doing a good job in helping us troubleshoot the issues with your Typhoon H. Keep up the good work. Getting the GUI installed and connecting the aircraft will also help in the troubleshooting regimen.
Thanks for the great help, hopefully all this will prevent someone else from having the same problem, Now that I am confident RTH will get me down successfully I am going to make a checklist and run the field test again to assure that I do it all correctly and you have something to check against, Here it is and will add flightlogs tomorrow 20211004_211611[1].jpg
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,010
Reaction score
2,324
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Very good list. A GREAT basis for review comparison.

I would also add to ensure the drone sits at the launch site with power on, motors off for a few minutes before recording the satellite count at line one. It will not only allow more time to get the count up, it will give more time for the drone to convince itself of it's true location. All we can see is the count. But the drone and/or controller may or may not use all the satellites it sees if it doesn't see them with good enough "quality".

Also recommend a Hardware Monitor/Final output check prior to starting motors. Sometimes stick cleaning has to be repeated a couple of times before it stays good. I have cleaned sticks in the house and had them show problems 20 minutes later at the launch site. Bummer, of course. But not as bad as finding out while you're in the air.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoomMeister

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
A couple things to add to the list.
Make sure you are in Rabbit before launching. Perform the Steps in Rabbit the first time, in Turtle the second time, return to Rabbit to land. Then perform the last launch and RTH return.

Now that we know the Final Output values look good, I am curious to see if the outputs while in Turtle will show the proper values during flight.

Again thank you for sticking with us on this. I’m thinking this standard flight routine will help in a lot of cases for troubleshooting issues.
 
  • Like
Reactions: WTFDproject
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
A couple things to add to the list.
Make sure you are in Rabbit before launching. Perform the Steps in Rabbit the first time, in Turtle the second time, return to Rabbit to land. Then perform the last launch and RTH return.

Now that we know the Final Output values look good, I am curious to see if the outputs while in Turtle will show the proper values during flight.

Again thank you for sticking with us on this. I’m thinking this standard flight routine will help in a lot of cases for troubleshooting issues.
Gusty winds this morning will try later, heres my updated flight list, will fill in as test goes on, trid final output now, results same
 

Attachments

  • 20211005_135702.jpg
    20211005_135702.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 3

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
Step 24.5) return Rate slider to Rabbit before landing
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
Step 24.5) return Rate slider to Rabbit before landing
Took the test flight and all went well, final output all matched close with the previous, except I forgot CH 8 was camera pan and not rate slider, after a few anxious moments it all came back, 15 satelites on both and good power, performed all movements in both modes and landed successfully, A little slow down at the 12 foot plateau but only cause I was looking for it, perfect landing in a 6 mile wind. Return to home test just as good 20 from takeoff zone, heres the flight log, my notes from the flight and the updated test flight steps. I hope after reading the flight data all looks good as well, I w3ill re install realsense tonight and test tomorrow. I can not thank you enough for all the great advice and knowledge. I feel more confident and will be eternally grateful for all the assistance. If there is anyone in Northern Minnesotathat need a hand don't hesitate to contact me. Dave I
 

Attachments

  • flightlogdave5[1].zip
    17.3 MB · Views: 2
  • 20211005_192658.jpg
    20211005_192658.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 4
  • 20211005_192720.jpg
    20211005_192720.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 4

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
3,010
Reaction score
2,324
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
A little slow down at the 12 foot plateau but only cause I was looking for it,
I'm pretty sure that is normal. At least mine does it on every Rabbit mode, stick full down landing. Mine slows from max rate of descent to something like half the descent rate. I assume it is giving itself more time to detect the change in barometric pressure it will see as it gets right at the ground. IE, it uses estimated altitude and GPS when confident it is far enough above ground, but it starts "feeling" for the ground when it gets close. The same rate change occurred on the RTH landing.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
A quick glance this morning shows the aircraft to be responding properly to commands including descent through the 5 meter (16 foot) altitude. I will make the charts this afternoon.

Time to go play golf. Will catch you later.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steve Carr
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
21
Age
71
A quick glance this morning shows the aircraft to be responding properly to commands including descent through the 5 meter (16 foot) altitude. I will make the charts this afternoon.

Time to go play golf. Will catch you later.
Enjoy the day !
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
6,841
Reaction score
3,946
Location
The Villages, FL USA
Flight 00132.png
As promised here is the collection of charts from your last test flight. I see good response to controller commands. With the Rate Slider in Rabbit the descent starting at 05:15 was steady and the rate slowed a bit from 5 meters altitude, but did not hang there. The RTH function works fine and you can see the automatic flight functions by looking at the altitude, pitch, roll, and yaw charts after flight mode changed to 13 (RTH flying) and 14 (RTH landing) as there are responses without any stick inputs.

You should be fine after reinstalling the RS module. Just use caution installing the fine thread screws. They fasten into plastic and can easily strip the plastic if overtightened. If your test flight goes OK with the RS, there should be no reason to upload the flightlog. 👍
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
20,058
Messages
231,995
Members
24,421
Latest member
chrisgreenslade