Hello Fellow Yuneec Pilot!
Join our free Yuneec community and remove this annoying banner!
Sign up

No throttle/take off

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
4,005
Reaction score
1,933
Location
Florida’s Friendliest Hometown
Couldnt get there from the volts tab, but did so on advanced then channel settings, seen the orange line move a little when moving the stick up and down, then let and right ? Should it go all the way, or a little is the norm ?
Sorry for not saying double tapping the Volts icon to get to Channels display.
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
4,005
Reaction score
1,933
Location
Florida’s Friendliest Hometown
Once you get to the Channels display from double tapping Volts, check the response of both sticks in both directions with the Rate slider at Turtle and at Rabbit.

Throttle (CH01) should be near 0% at full down and 100% full up in Rabbit and 20% full down and 80% full up in Turtle. At neutral it should be 50%.

Pitch (CH03) and Roll (CH02) on the right stick should be -80% to +80% in Turtle and -100% to +100% in Rabbit.

Yaw (CH04) should be near +/-50% in Turtle and +/-80% in Rabbit.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
215
Reaction score
64
Age
62
The channel settings should show a range for J1 of about "5" to "85". DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING in Channel settings if you are not familiar with it. Being in this menu has been the source of many messed up controllers.

I think you have already answered the question, but please try the display under "Volts" again. It is just a rapid double tap. More taps than two often cause the display to not appear.

Had you been in the Channel Setting menu just prior to the problem showing up?
No never been there before, I've read the hardships before
 

DoomMeister

Moderator/Tech Junkie
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 25, 2017
Messages
4,005
Reaction score
1,933
Location
Florida’s Friendliest Hometown
@johnnyb57

@Steve Carr , @WTFDproject , and myself have been discussing your problem. To try and shorten the process of troubleshooting we feel it would be best to do a factory reset of your ST-16 and then the hidden menu calibration. Before doing those I would also suggest backing up your FlightLog directory so you have a copy of that flight history.

Refer to Attachment 46 in the document in this post Way To Fix Drones project To make a copy of your FlightLog directory on the ST-16.

Then perform the factory reset of the ST-16 using the directions in this video.

Then perform the hidden menu calibration for the ST-16.

At this point you should be good to go as long as the board you replaced is not defective. The calibration should let you know.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
215
Reaction score
64
Age
62
Once you get to the Channels display from double tapping Volts, check the response of both sticks in both directions with the Rate slider at Turtle and at Rabbit.

Throttle (CH01) should be near 0% at full down and 100% full up in Rabbit and 20% full down and 80% full up in Turtle. At neutral it should be 50%.

Pitch (CH03) and Roll (CH02) on the right stick should be -80% to +80% in Turtle and -100% to +100% in Rabbit.

Yaw (CH04) should be near +/-50% in Turtle and +/-80% in Rabbit.
Heres what I got :
throttle cho3
turtle 58%
- 59%
rabbit 93%
- 96%
yaw cho 4
turtle 47%
- 48%
rabbit 76%
-78%
pitch cho 1
turtle 79%
20%
cho 2 l/r
turtle 60%
- 60%
rabbit 60%
-60%
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
1,354
Reaction score
817
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Heres what I got :
throttle cho3
yaw cho 4
pitch cho 1
cho 2 l/r
That may explain a LOT. Your controller is not in the normal Mode 2. It is selected to Mode 1.
If you did not do this intentionally, then you are pushing the wrong stick for throttle. And very lucky you didn't get the H to fly.
The Modes are changed in "System Settings / Mode Select".
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
215
Reaction score
64
Age
62
That may explain a LOT. Your controller is not in the normal Mode 2. It is selected to Mode 1.
If you did not do this intentionally, then you are pushing the wrong stick for throttle. And very lucky you didn't get the H to fly.
The Modes are changed in "System Settings / Mode Select".
You were correct, I just switched it will check it tomorrow. In a way I'm glad this happened as its helping, or I should say the members are helping me learn the ins and outs on these things. Once again I thank all of you, and i'n indebted to your knowledge, thanx again
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
1,354
Reaction score
817
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
It may not be over. I'm not sure why the drone did not pitch forward onto it's nose. Be sure to apply caution when you check it.
For what it's worth, Let me add some general discussion about Hardware Monitor and the final outputs:
Hardware Monitor is an EXCELLENT tool for it's purpose, which is essentially checking the nearly raw output of each controller. It's main drawback is not in itself, but in us, the pilots. Many pilots believe what is shown in Hardware Monitor is what is going to the drone. It is not. And sometimes dangerously not.
This drawing might help explain why checking the final output display is a better indication of what the controller is sending:
Signal Overview.jpg
 
Last edited:

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
1,354
Reaction score
817
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
It may not be over. I'm not sure why the drone did not pitch forward onto it's nose. Be sure to apply caution when you check it.
Update: Thanks to @Steve Carr, we now know the TH will NOT respond to Yaw, Pitch or Roll commands prior to take off. Experiment was done with props off. Ran experiment in Mode 1 and Mode 2. In each case, ONLY the channel assigned to throttle would increase prop speed.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
215
Reaction score
64
Age
62
Update: Thanks to @Steve Carr, we now know the TH will NOT respond to Yaw, Pitch or Roll commands prior to take off. Experiment was done with props off. Ran experiment in Mode 1 and Mode 2. In each case, ONLY the channel assigned to throttle would increase prop speed.
Whats confusing me is; I had flown it awhile back, and it was in mode 2 which l never changed how could this have changed on its own ?
 

WTFDproject

Moderator
Staff member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
1,354
Reaction score
817
Location
North Carolina Piedmont, USA
Trust me. It is easy to change one of these controllers and have no idea you changed it. I've done it myself, and have heard the tale from others. In at least one episode, I suspected some kids were involved while Grandpa wasn't looking. But I don't think the controllers have a defect that causes them to make changes to themselves.
And if you think it's easy to change the Mode menu, just wait till you open "Channel Settings". I swear, you can mess up in there just by looking at it sideways. It's a great tool if you grew up with it. Those of us who did not have to learn by "cautious experimentation". Similar to "trial and error". Mostly error. I've got some broken plastic to memorialize my education.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DoomMeister

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
17,291
Messages
202,589
Members
20,054
Latest member
Gonzalez1967jose